Registered and choosing a game

Apparently I should have registered for the course online before starting it. But an email to the admins at the uni fixed that for me. So now I am really taking the course, not just thinking I am taking it.

First round of essays have gone through, one on a ‘dream’ game that sounded quite a lot like The Sims. The other two were reflections on World of Warcraft and Fallout.

I am still having trouble choosing a game to do my final paper on. I have considered DesktopTD, but I wonder if I could stand playing that game much more. An other alternative is one of the Brothers in Arms tactical FPS games on Xbox, I have been wanting to play those for a year now, and this could be a reason to make me free the time to do so. It would be nice to do work on a real game though, like Pandemic.

intro2gamedesign.wordpress.com – The course

intro2gamedesign3.wordpress.com – My workgroup for the course

handdrawngames.com – Desktop Tower Defence

www.zmangames.com/boardgames/pandemic.htm – Pandemic

2 Comments

  1. avkomman said,

    February 2, 2009 at 17:04

    I haven´t decided either. Fist I though I would pick a game I have played thoruhg, but now I am re-considering.. but this seems like a really fun course, don´t you think?

  2. Wilhelm said,

    February 2, 2009 at 18:45

    I think I would at least like to have tried the game that I’ll be working with, to make sure that I like it a bit before I start.

    As for the course I’d like to see a more detailed schedule. I have been playing computer games for a long time and find myself gravitating towards other types of gaming. I hope that most of the contents of the course can be generalized to such areas and don’t get stuck in the computer realm.

    I hope the books come soon, they might give some clues on the direction of the course. But I do get good vibes from the course in general, it will be interesting to see the first ‘real’ lectures and assignments.


Leave a Reply

