More gamba samples

I got into a discussion with Jimmy Peggie about preamps for the Ergo gamba and piezo pickups in general. In the end I promised to record a sample with and without a preamp made for acoustic instruments.

  • Sample 1 First I connected the gamba directly to my LEM rdx 82u mixer. The mixer has USB out and acted as A/D converter, I did the recordings in Audacity on the computer.
  • Sample 2 Then I connected a Behringer V-Tone Acoustic ADI 21 preamp between the gamba and the mixer.
  • Sample 3 Just for fun I connected my Behringer Virtualizer PRO between the preamp and the mixer. This is the setup I usually have when playing.

The method of the test is questionable, I pretty much used the settings on everything that happened to be dialed in when I started, very little adjustments took place. No doubt I can tweak a better sound on all setups. But I did not have the time for that this time.

I might get back to this project later and redo the recordings when I have a bit more time on my hands.

4 Comments

  1. Jimmy Peggie said,

    June 7, 2010 at 16:05

    Thanks for the sound samples. Very interesting. I need to experiment with a preamp I think….
    Thanks!

  2. Wilhelm said,

    June 8, 2010 at 10:10

    No problem.

    I’ll look forward to hearing the results of your experiments.

    The samples are a bit unfair, I got better at playing the sample tune after a while, I really should redo at least the plain one. But that will have to wait until the weekend.

  3. Laurence said,

    February 11, 2012 at 08:36

    Hey there Wilper,

    When are you going to post some more electric gamba stuff? I’m potentially interested in one of these instruments, but there’s so little info out there. Your blog is by far the most useful source I’ve found. I’d really love to know about your continuing adventures with the Ergo viol.

    ciao,
    Laurence

    • Wilhelm said,

      February 11, 2012 at 08:41

      Hi Laurence,

      I haven’t touched the viol in a while, I’m mostly playing with synths these days. But I’d be happy to answer any questions you might have. And I could hook up the viol again and record a bit if there’s something in particular you’d be interested in, but my viol playing is a bit rusty by now. 🙂

      /W


Leave a Reply

