My New Year’s resolution

I’ve been on a shopping spree since last year, getting second hand synths and equipment. And I then put it all into a corner, ready to be used but not actually played with all that much. I have been too busy with my other hobby, game design and hosting potluck conventions. But today I sat down and completed my New Year’s resolution: To use some of the stuff I already have and record something that uses at least three “instruments”.

Synths

Synths

It’s nothing fancy, just doodling on the keyboard, the important thing is that I actually sat down and recorded anything at all.

The three instruments

  • Roland SH-201, used to play the windy sounding stuff in the background. Mostly done by a slow arpeggiator playing a filtered noise generator patch.
  • KORG Electribe EM-1, used for the faint heart beat sound in the background.
  • Roland JV-1080, the factory patch LetterFrmPat (User 103) was used both for the lead and the slow stuff in the background.

I named the file after the patch, Letter.

6 Comments

  1. Daniel said,

    March 31, 2011 at 14:20

    Nice ambient stuff! I would like to hear more of that. 🙂

  2. April 1, 2011 at 08:35

    Oh, how nice!
    Would be nice if you recorded some that we could listen to. =)

  3. April 1, 2011 at 08:35

    Some more I mean, of course…

  4. September 24, 2011 at 09:11

    […] Back in March I finally managed to sit down with the sound toys for a while and did my New Year’s resolution recording. Today I got another chance, and I managed to figure out how to sync the Electribe with the arpeggiator on the CS1X. […]

    • URMz said,

      May 10, 2013 at 18:52

      Hello! Strange question but – do you happen to have a user’s manual for that LEM rdx 82u mixer? And did it come bundled with any software?
      I can’t find any info about the thing on the internets.

      • Wilhelm said,

        May 11, 2013 at 06:46

        I think I’ve lost the manual, it wasn’t all that informative anyway. I don’t recall it having a CD. It works right out of the box with Windows as a USB sound card.

        In the end I never got it to work properly as a sound interface, so I bought a dedicated sound interface and just use the LEM as a mixer these days.


Leave a Reply

