The Academy – Status update and other things

Part of an illustration by Daniele Poma for The Academy

Part of an illustration by Daniele Poma for The Academy


It feels like it was only yesterday that I last posted about my game project. Then I had just come in contact with Daniele Poma and ordered the interior art for what was then called The Cadet Game. Earlier this week I got an update from Daniele, all the art is done!

Now it is merely up to me to assemble it all into a game. But like our heroine on the left, I’m not quite ready yet. I’m still not done with revising the rules, and then there’s the whole matter of actually writing the game. And doing layout, proof reading, finding an editor and printing and dozens of other little things that are needed to make an idea – even one that has been subjected to playtests for several years – into a complete RPG to put on the shelves.

The Isabella card

The Isabella card

I have been distracted from my work with The Academy, I took part in Game Chef 2011, and competed with a game called The Daughters of Verona. We have played it and I must say it captures the feeling of a Shakespearean comedy very well, and it’s fun game too.

I have also been hacking While the World Ends into a game about courtiers in the palace of the Mad Sultan, and there are more hacks on the way. But I’m shifting my design focus back to The Academy for now, when I still have the buzz from the pretty pictures.

1 Comment

  1. solvebring said,

    October 19, 2011 at 08:59

    Hey, this is great news. =) I’m really looking forward to this game, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best.


Leave a Reply

